Two Texas counties designated primary natural disaster areas

Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue has designated two Texas counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Duval and Jim Wells counties who suffered losses caused by excessive moisture and flooding that occurred from June 19 through June 21, 2018, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans

This designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous Texas counties of Brooks, Jim Hogg, Kleberg, La Salle, Live Oak, McMullen, Nueces, San Patricio and Webb are also eligible to apply for emergency loans. 

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is July 23, 2019. 

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. 

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at

Source: USDA FSA-Texas

Share the Post